Free Vegan SVG Files

Veganism is the strictest form of vegetarianism, excluding the consumption of animal products.

Vegan SVG is a person who follows the principles of veganism. Vegans refuse to consume all kinds of meat, milk (not including breast milk when feeding babies), eggs, honey, and other substances and additives produced using animals (such as gelatine or carmine). In addition, vegans do not use clothing and other household items made of animal products (leather, wool, silk, etc.) and refuse to use household chemicals and cosmetics tested on animals. Vegans do not support animal circuses, zoos, dolphinariums or other animal entertainment.

It differs from vegetarianism in that it affects more than just nutrition. People who follow the vegan way of life only in food are called strict vegetarians. In the English-speaking world, the term “plant-based” is used.

Vegan SVG History

The term “veganism” appeared as one of the classifications of vegetarianism and was introduced in 1944 by Donald Watson. Vegetarianism”, since its inception, has been understood as the rejection of meat food (or at least most of its species), and in some cases, fish, milk and eggs. There was no strict list of foods not to be consumed. The first classification arose after a tendency among vegetarians to include eggs and dairy products in the diet (which differed from the previous practice of stricter restrictions, approximately corresponding to the modern way of life of vegans, but then called simply “vegetarianism”). As a result, the terms “Old Vegetarianism” and “Young Vegetarianism” (in modern terms – “veganism” and “ovo-lacto-vegetarianism”/”lacto-vegetarianism, respectively) appeared.

Later on, the variety of vegetarian diets increased, which in some cases was accompanied by compromises in diet planning, including those contradicting the original ideas of vegetarians. As a result, vegetarianism had identified a number of areas for which terminology had emerged. The modern classification distinguishes between vegetarian variants such as “ovo-/lacto-vegetarianism” (allowing for eggs and/or dairy products, respectively) and “veganism”. There are also diets close to vegetarianism: pesquetarianism, pollockytarianism, flexitarianism, friganism, fructorianism.

Vegan SVG Products and consumption

Vegans do not eat only meat products, poultry, fish and seafood (as well as vegetarians), but also eggs and dairy products. Apart from these animal products, vegans are generally not used or supported in the home:

Leather, fur, silk, wool and other animal materials;


products containing components derived from animal products (e.g. gelatin, glycerin); for example, gelatin may be used to make films;

products that use animal products in their manufacture (often in cleaning) (e.g. gelatin used in the production of certain refined sugars, in the clarification of certain grape wines and beers, but “most of the strong alcohol – such as vodka, whiskey, brandy, gin – vegan”,)

products that have been tested on animals (e.g. some cosmetics and tobacco);

The entertainment industry, if animals are involved against their will and with violence: circuses, zoos, dolphinariums and aquariums, races, animal photography, bullfighting, animal fighting;

There are many controversial ingredients that can be both vegetable and animal (e.g. E471, E472).

In order to help vegans choose products that meet vegan standards, the Vegan Society sells to manufacturers the right to display a special Vegan-Friendly Product logo.